HackDig : Dig high-quality web security articles

Google Maps: online interventions with offline ramifications

The places where online life directly intersection with that lived offline will be forever fascinating, illustrated perfectly through a recent performance piece involving Google Maps, a cart, and an awful lot of mobile phones. Simon Weckert, an artist based in Berlin, Germany, showed how a little ingenuity could work magic on the ubiquitous Google Maps syste
Publish At:2020-02-07 16:50 | Read:2263 | Comments:0 | Tags:Privacy art vs tech businesses cars crowdsourcing Google goo

Book review: The Car Hacker’s Handbook

So, this is going to be a bit of an unusual blog for me. I usually focus on technical stuff, exploitation, hacking, etc. But this post will be a mixture of a book review, some discussion on my security review process, and whatever asides fall out of my keyboard when I hit it for long enough. But, don't fear! I have a nice heavy technical blog ready to go for
Publish At:2017-06-12 16:00 | Read:3743 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews

Storing large binary files in git repositories

This is a small update (1 year later) of a great article by Ilmari Kontulainen, first posted on blog.deveo.com. I’ll post the original article in blockquote and my notes in green. Storing large binary files in Git repositories seems to be a bottleneck for many Git users. Because of the decentralized nature of Git, which means every developer has the fu
Publish At:2016-11-19 20:55 | Read:7559 | Comments:0 | Tags:Guides Opinion Reviews git git lfs git-annex large files vcs

cybrary.it – a first look

cybrary.it – a first look Posted by Rob Slade on June 13, 2015.A few weeks ago I noted a new account on Twitter, called Cybrary.  This pointed at a Website providing free information security training, cybrary.it.You have to register for the site, but all it asks for is your name
Publish At:2015-06-14 05:35 | Read:4868 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews Rob Slade Security Social Media

REVIEW – “The Florentine Deception”, Carey Nachenberg

REVIEW – “The Florentine Deception”, Carey Nachenberg Posted by Rob Slade on June 10, 2015.BKFLODEC.RVW   20150609“The Florentine Deception”, Carey Nachenberg, 2015, 978-1-5040-0924-9,U$13.49/C$18.91%A   Carey Nachenberg http://florentinedeception.com%C  
Publish At:2015-06-10 16:10 | Read:4459 | Comments:0 | Tags:Expert Views Reviews Rob Slade Security

Listen your favorite music on Linux with Atraci

While there are many music players out there, most of them require you to purchase the music and add it to your own playlist. This can amass quite a lot of work, especially if you have large collections of music, and because of that using an alternative such as Atraci is truly recommended. What is Atraci? Simply put, Atraci is a music player that streams mus
Publish At:2015-06-09 11:15 | Read:5288 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews apps floss github high quality linux music player op

iStorage FIPS 140-2 Encrypted Storage Devices

iStorage FIPS 140-2 Encrypted Storage Devices Posted by Alexander Hanff on May 28, 2015.My first Privacy News Video is a review of i-Storage’s FIPS 140-2 Certified Hardware Encrypted Storage Devices.Given the current climate and security concerns since the Snowden revelations beg
Publish At:2015-05-28 07:20 | Read:4622 | Comments:0 | Tags:Alexander Hanff Reviews encryption NSA privacy security

Apotheon: A heroic action game released for Linux

Not so long ago, the terms “Linux” and “gaming” had nothing in common. In fact, “Linux” didn’t have much in common with pretty much anything else in the field of entertainment, being considered an operating system for highly skilled individuals (which is just a fancy way of saying it was for geeks and nerds only). However, things have changed a lot lately, a
Publish At:2015-02-24 01:20 | Read:4537 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews 2d scrolling apotheon gameplay games gioco linux ope

How to easily record your screen on Linux

 Linux is a great operating system for a wide range of users, be it gamers or people that are passionate about listening music or creating videos for example. No matter what category you belong to, you can rest assured that recording a video with your gameplay sessions or the way you use an application is very easy, as long as you have the right tools. Simpl
Publish At:2015-02-12 21:10 | Read:6024 | Comments:0 | Tags:Articles Reviews audio linux screen screen recorder SimpleSc

Keep your Diary on Linux with RedNoteBook

 Documenting processes and systems or just keeping a diary of the daily happenings are things that many computer users are doing very often. RedNotebook is a professional application that allows you to create a log or journal of all those tasks as well as document issues with your network. The app can be seen as a professional journal for IT experts, althoug
Publish At:2015-01-19 03:15 | Read:4522 | Comments:0 | Tags:Articles Reviews floss linux log notebook open source rednot

Backup files on Linux with FreeFileSync

As a Linux user, you always want to keep your files and folders up to date, and this is especially true in those situations where you can create a backup. This is why you have to use a tool that automatically syncs the content of two folders in order to keep them up to date. FreeFileSync is a utility that fits the bill quite nicely, since it automates the af
Publish At:2015-01-11 19:30 | Read:5987 | Comments:0 | Tags:Articles Reviews backup floss FreeFileSync linux linux open

Linux Games: Natural Selection 2

For a very long time I wanted an FPS that manages to blend seamlessly the FPS and RTS genre, and this is how I got into Natural Selection 2. This is a multiplayer oriented game where you can take the role of either humans or aliens as you try to survive and lead your race to victory. Story Natural Selection 2 comes with a simplistic, yet highly appealing s
Publish At:2014-12-21 00:40 | Read:6070 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews fps games linux multiplayer Natural selection 2 stra

Linux Games: Sanctum 2

I’ve recently bought an offer for Sanctum 2 on Steam, and while at the start I was a bit skeptic, I must say that I like this mix between a Tower Defense and an FPS. Sanctum 2 is the sequel to the world’s first Tower Defense/FPS hybrid game Pick from four unique character classes and take up the mission of protecting the Cores from hordes of mysteriou
Publish At:2014-09-15 07:20 | Read:6739 | Comments:0 | Tags:Articles Reviews Britech Foundation Core Guardians game game

Gigolo – Easily Manage Local And Remote Filesystem Connections

Article by Himanshu Arora first posted on http://mylinuxbook.com/ Sometimes a computer system is connected to so many file-systems (in parallel) that managing these connections becomes a complex task. If a user’s work involves interacting with local, external and remote file-systems then he/she would definitely feel a need for a connection management softwar
Publish At:2014-08-29 22:10 | Read:6869 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews filesystem connections manager filesystem manager gi

Zorin OS 9 Core Review: As good as Linux Mint 17!

While I was looking around for some review of recent linux distribution I found this nice blog: http://mylinuxexplore.blogspot.it/ it’s a blog dedicated to Linux Distro review and for what I’ve read the articles are really well made and accurate, so in short take a look at this great blog by arindam sen. Here I’ve republished his last artic
Publish At:2014-08-24 17:30 | Read:8422 | Comments:0 | Tags:Reviews linux mint 17 open source zorin os

Announce

Share high-quality web security related articles with you:)
Tell me why you support me <3

Tag Cloud